Christmas and New Year travel

On certain days and routes we will run an amended service during the festive period to allow track improvement work to take place. To get details of train times before you travel you can see the summary table below or;

  • Use the "Train times and tickets" panel to the left of this page
  • Use the "Travel updates" section for up-to-date journey information on the day
  • To help make your journey easier, we have dedicated space available on board for your luggage
  • Grand Central runs two types of trains - Class 180 and HST. Download our seating plans and find your seat or check where you can store your luggage before you travel.
  • Call National Rail Enquiries on 08457 484 950 (calls charged at local rate and may be recorded).
DatesNorth East LineWest Riding Line

Thursday 21 December

Normal service

Normal service

Friday 22 December

Normal service

Normal service

Saturday 23 December Normal service

Normal service

Sunday 24 December

The following services will not run:

  • 14.12 Sunderland to Kings Cross
  • 18.12 Sunderland to Kings Cross
  • 18.22 Kings Cross to Sunderland

The following services will not run:

  • 15.05 Bradford - Kings Cross
  • 15.59 Bradford - Kings Cross
  • 18.45 Kings Cross - Bradford
  • 19.22 Kings Cross - Bradford
Monday 25 December

No services

No services

Tuesday 26 December

No services

No services

Wednesday 27 December

The following service will not run:

  • 08.03 Kings Cross to Sunderland
Normal service
Thursday 28 December Normal service

Normal service

Friday 29 December Normal service

Normal service

Saturday 30 December Normal service

Normal service

Sunday 31 December

The following services will not run:

  • 14.12 Sunderland to Kings Cross
  • 18.12 Sunderland to Kings Cross
  • 18.22 Kings Cross to Sunderland

The following services will not run:

  • 15.05 Bradford Interchange to Kings Cross
  • 15.59 Bradford Interchange to Kings Cross
  • 18.45 Kings Cross to Bradford Interchange
  • 19.22 Kings Cross to Bradford Interchange
Monday 1 January 

No services

No services 

Tuesday 2 January Normal services Normal services
Wednesday 3 January Normal service Normal service 
Thursday 4 January Normal service Normal service 

Further details regarding the changes to our services over the festive period are available on our "Planned timetable changes" page. 

Some of our services over the festive period may be busy and we would recommend buying your ticket in advance with a reservation. We will be publicising seat availability over the coming weeks.