Skip to main content

NUS Banner

Upcoming Advance ticket availability - find out more

nus Save 25% with TOTUM by NUS extra today! - See how

Arriva QTT

Buy tickets to anywhere in Great Britain

Page Title

King's Cross remodelling - The East Coast upgrade

The East Coast Upgrade overview

The multi-million pound investment is set to provide a once-in-a-generation opportunity to improve the infrastructure at King’s Cross station, which will see a-mile-and-a-half of track, signalling and overhead line equipment re-thought, re-planned and re-laid.

At the same time, the project will create two new lines by re-opening a disused tunnel on the approach to King’s Cross; increasing the approach from four tracks to six.

For more information about The East Coast Upgrade, visit eastcoastupgrade.co.uk.

Disruption in January and February 2020

Work is also taking place over most weekends in January and February, which will mean there is a reduced service.

There will be no trains in and out of King’s Cross over the two weekends below:

  • Saturday 25 and Sunday 26 January
  • Saturday 29 February and Sunday 1 March.

There will also be five weekends of a reduced service on the East Coast Main Line when passengers along the route are urged to check before travelling and to allow additional time for their journey as these services will be busy and are likely to take longer than usual. These dates are:

  • Saturday 4 and Sunday 5 January
  • Saturday 11 and Sunday 12 January
  • Saturday 18 and Sunday 19 January
  • Saturday 8 and Sunday 9 February
  • Saturday 15 and Sunday 16 February

Will this affect Grand Central services?

Friday 24 January 2020

The 17:30 Sunderland to London Kings Cross service will not run. All other services will run as normal.

Monday 27 January 2020

The 08:27 London Kings Cross to Sunderland service will not run. All other services will run as normal.

Friday 28 Febraury 2020

The 17:30 Sunderland to London Kings Cross service will not run. All other services will run as normal.

Monday 2 March 2020

The 08:27 London Kings Cross to Sunderland service will not run. All other services will run as normal.